Stitches and Scars: Should I Get Plastic Surgery?

Posted: November 5, 2010 by Thos003 in Uncategorized

Only 3 stitches.So I am probably being more drama about this than my daughter.  Sad, I know.  The tough guy in me says, “Don’t baby her and just let her get over it.”  She in fact handled it very well.  But then the father side of me has to ask questions that I have never really asked before.  This is my first stitch.  And it is my little girl.  So my real concern… the SCAR.

I know that I could have easily butterflied it and super glued it, and she would have been fine.  But it’s that loss of perfection that comes to mind.  She will now be scared for life. The doctor assured me that it will be barely noticeable.  I also learned that scars take about 8 months to 12 month before really forming. And he did tip me off that I can put Vitamin E on it after 4 weeks to help soften the scar. But don’t put it on too early as it would weaken the skin and cause the scar to be larger. His final encouraging words, “You and your wife will probably be the only ones that will even know it is there.”

But I must ask myself….

If I have the ability to remove this scar from her face should I?

So, I’d like your input:

And overall very happy with the help I received from Dr. Carroll.

Gilbert Pediatrics
4540 East Baseline Road, Mesa, AZ 85206
(480) 892-3880
Comments
  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Marty Martin, Thomas Ballantyne. Thomas Ballantyne said: Stitches and Scars: Should I Get Plastic Surgery?: http://t.co/BGYu2Bw […]

Leave a Reply

