A totally different View on SEO.

Posted: June 6, 2009 by Thos003 in Marketing, SEO
Tags: , , , , , ,

I decided to up my SEO knowledge so I meet up with some local SEO people.

As I sat in the room I was instantly awe struck by a woman and man as they walked in.  This husband gently lead guided his wife into the room. She was wearing sunglasses and carrying a walking stick under her arm.  At closer examination the husband was also carrying a walking stick although he was not using it. It was apparent that she is blind and he is visually impaired.

What could I make of this?  A blind SEO team?  As I sat I watched with wonder how he searched the internet.  As the group meet up progressed and the group was asked to review some sites, I was able to personally witness how she, a completely blind individual surfed the internet.  What an amazing perspective! I listened to her computer speaking to her as she browsed the page.  It was a totally and completely new view on SEO, optimizing a site to be accessible for the blind.  And here they were, an expert SEO team, certified by the search engine academy, ready to give their feedback on SEO and usability from their totally unique and different view.

I was inspired today and applaud that SEO team.

Comments
  1. Friday Link Roundup « Keeping it Simple says:

    […] Exterminating has an excellent blog for SEO and made a thought-provoking post recently on optimizing your site to be accessible to the blind. I’m inspired now […]

  2. Gerry says:

    You continue to amaze me with your focus not only on technology, but on the people side of business. Bravo!

    • thos003 says:

      Thanks Gerry. I am sure from what I have read on your blog that you are equally as caring about your pest control company, employees, and customers, and in the end that is what really keeps a company afloat and moving in the right direction.

  3. dan says:

    and blind people never call for reservices

Leave a Reply

