Family Pest Control or a Pest Control Family?

Posted: June 4, 2009 by Thos003 in business, pest control
Tags: , , , , , ,

What are the benefits of a family pest control over a big corporate run pest control?

What are the disadvantages?

Is there a happy medium?

One of Bulwark’s customers put it best for us… “Small enough to care, but big enough to do it right.”

But even beyond that is what Gerry touched on in a recent post.  A family business may have some flaws… what you may be shooting for instead is a business family.  Drawing from my experience with other family owned companies in the past, specifically a restaurant I worked for, it was almost hard to leave them because the owner and other employees had developed a real concern about each other.  I have even had one family company ask to keep me on for about 10 to 15 hours a week in the evenings, and I felt like I needed to stay to help them out.  The pay wasn’t great but it wasn’t about the pay.  It was about the family.

So does your family pest control company fall into the pitfalls of family members getting away with murder and ultimately ostracize the non-family employees? Or does your franchise run a tight ship were every sailor on board would risk life and limb for another?

Franchise, privately owned, or corporate…

Its not about family businesses but about business families.

Comments
  1. Gerry Weitz says:

    Hi Thomas,

    After 7 years of running Hearts Pest Management, I am for the first time considering bringing a relative into my pest control business. Already, I see the dilemma. In a bad economy such as this one, I am very fearful that my employees will think that decisions affecting their employment are secondary to favorable positioning of a relative. I question myself, so how can I not blame an employee if they have this fear? But, in this instance, I found a special relative who seems to fill a specific need for a CSR that has property management experience.

    Wish me luck,

    Gerry

  2. dan says:

    family owned is one thing, but family operated is meaning full custumers know your name, dog, hobbies ect. Not every one has a family and we welcome them to are family.

Leave a Reply

