“Do it for your site visitors, and not for search engines.”

Posted: April 7, 2009 by Thos003 in business, Marketing, pest control, SEO
Tags: , , ,

Funny, this comment seems to bring back debates on “what came first, the chicken or the egg.” How can you get visitors to your site if you are not being found? How can you be found if you are not feeding the Search Engine Beast?

Seriously, how quick and easy is it for visitors to come and go online. Its not like you are holding a meeting where its considered rude to stand up and walk out. Its online media. Come and go as you please. So the more visitors you get the more likely you are too succeed. Throw the spaghetti and see what sticks!

But if your throwing up all crappy uncooked noodles then what good does it do to have 1 million visitors if not a single one turns a profit? Oh I know why, because a million visitors will turn a profit! If you get them away from a search engine then give them only adsense options on your site to find the real and relevant content you get paid! So the visitors only become a numbered guest or a dollar sign. And the guys that think like that are more motivated to move sites then guys who are passionate about their subject or field of expertise. Why? Because we are busy in our field of expertise and not is some online computer SEO game.

For example, this site is about SEO for pest control companies. I have written this entire post with no regards to SEO optimization for pest control until now. Had I wanted better ranking for pest control I would have titled this differently and I would have mentioned related pest control terms over and over again. Trying to make it read as nice as possible, but not so secretively doing it strictly for SEO. But instead I am truly writing to write. I am writing because I am passionate about content quality vs search engine garbage. But, truthfully, as much as this page and site are about SEO, I highly doubt that I will ever turn a profit from my efforts here.

So I write to write. In fact, I don’t really even care if this post ever gets read. I hope that it does, but I am more interested in the few like minded pest control companies that are concerned about quality of product, quality of service and customer care first. Perhaps they will stumble upon this and together we can beat out the beast and the billion dollar companies. I think we can. The math shows that we, the little family owned pest control companies out number the big guys. But my question goes back to the same question that this post began with…. “Quality vs Quantity”

Are you a pest control company that cares? Do you put your customers first? Are you a SEO company that cares about your visitors (i.e. customers)? Do you put visitors first?

If you do, the road may be longer. It may be harder. But the success is also longer and more rewarding. My father taught me that a good business deal is when both parties walk away feeling like they have been treated fairly.

Doing what’s right for the customer = Doing what’s right for the company. Win – Win.

Leave a Reply

